Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Users/Groups Panel

This panel or tab allows for managing users and groups. Using this panel, administrators can:

  • Create, edit and delete users/groups.
  • Manage users/groups’ Roles. There are 3 different roles in Atrium:

      User:

           By default, a user is granted limited access.

      Manager:

           By default, a manager can create, edit, and delete users within his group.

      Administrator:

           Administrators have unlimited access to Atrium by default.

  • Reassign existing users/groups through a drag-and-drop interface.
  • Customize the look and feel of Atrium to suite different users/groups.
  • Control users/groups’ rights to customizing/editing their own profile in Atrium.

Adding Groups

To add a group, select the All Groups folder as shown in the screenshot below.

Next, click Add. The Add Group screen will be displayed as shown below.



In the “Member of” dropdown field, you can select whether this group should be a subgroup of any of the groups that were previously created. By checking the “Inherit Settings” checkbox, the new group will inherit the settings defined for the group selected in the “Member of” option. To define the new group’s appearance and navigation settings, simply uncheck the “Inherit Settings” checkbox.

Appearance

The settings shown in the screen shot above are the default appearance settings for all new groups. Here, you may changethe browser title and banner appearance, and select a new theme if desired.

Banner URL

The banner URL property point to where the banner content is located. The URL can be either absolute or fully qualified.

Navigation

Navigation settings may be modified with a new title name and width. The navigation type will affect how the options are displayed. Currently, there are two options for navigation type:

  • Tree-style navigation
  • Accordion-style navigation

Once your group settings have been selected, click the Save button in the lower right hand corner of the screen.

Your new group will be displayed as shown below. For the purpose of these instructions, our new group has been named “Development”. In the next few sections we will work with this group for editing and adding users.

Editing Groups

To edit a group, first start by selecting the group to be modified. Next, click Edit. The Edit Group settings will be displayed and you can make any necessary changes. When finished, click Save in the bottom right corner of the screen.



Deleting Groups

To delete a group, select the group and click the Delete button in the Groups navigation panel.

Adding Users to a Group

Select the group to which you will add your users in the Groups navigation panel. The users with permissions granted for this group will be displayed in the Users panel. Next, we will click the add button in the users panel to add a new user to the Development group.

Add user settings

Fill in the user name and the level of access that the user will have. Additionally, by checking the “Can edit profile” box, the user will have access to change the appearance and navigation settings of Atrium. Indicate whether the profile is an IBM i profile or a user-define profile. If the “IBM i™ Profile,” the user will login with his/her regular IBM i credentials. If not checked, however, the user’s login credentials will be stored in a DB2 file. Click save when form is complete.

To edit or delete a user, select the user and click the appropriate button in the user’s panel.

My Settings

Atrium users can further customize the interface if they have been granted the proper privileges. The “My Settings” option will appear under the Settings dropdown field when users first logon only if they have been granted the authority to edit their own profile. Settings include the overall appearance of Atrium, such as: changing Atrium’s theme, controlling the banner html file, banner dimensions and whether Atrium should have a banner. Other options control navigation styles, such as tree-based navigation vs. accordion-based navigation and single-click vs. double-click navigation. Limit number of sessions option allows you to set a limit on how many concurrent Atrium sessions this user can have open (how many separate Atrium windows they can have open within their browser).

 

By default, Administrator accounts can edit their own profile.


Supplemental Groups

Users are members of a primary group, from which they inherit settings and navigation permissions. With Profound UI 5.2.0, a Supplemental Group feature is introduced to allow more flexible navigation rules. Users can be added to multiple supplemental groups. Atrium navigation items can be set to appear or disappear from a user based on her/his supplemental group membership–as well as the primary group membership.

As an example, consider a business that uses Atrium's navigation permissions to limit program access based on the user's group membership. Suppose accounting programs are only available to members of the accounting group, and sales programs are only available to members of the sales group. If a user belongs to the accounting group, adding her/him as a supplementary member to the sales group would permit him/her access to both groups of programs.

Only Administrators may manage supplemental group membership.

Supplemental groups are managed in the User Edit screen:

 

For convenience in the Users/Groups control panel, supplemental members of groups are listed below the primary members:

See Rules For Determining Permissions for details on how supplemental groups, primary groups, and other rules determine a user's permission to view a navigation item.

Labels
  • No labels